Skip to content

And the busier weeks…

July 13, 2016
Robber Fly (Efferia snowi)

© jmillerphoto.com – Robber Fly (Efferia snowi)

Friends, I have been one busy, busy person.  I recently described my life to a co-worker as being a plate spinner trying to do his craft while the floor has been covered in olive oil.

As you can tell by the lack of entries for the last few months, blogging has suffered.  I’m hoping to get back onto the wagon blogging again, making at least one evening a week to catch up on writing to share my images and where I’ve been shooting.  Not many secrets here…

It isn’t like I haven’t been shooting.  Shooting is what keeps the blood pressure and stress levels in check.  I just haven’t been taking the time to write about it.  With my shoot this past weekend I’ve marked 24 days in the field so far this year–just nine fewer than all of last year.

Speaking of this past weekend, I spent a very hot morning up in Austin making images at Southeast Metro Park, a Travis County park that is due east of Austin/Bergstrom International Airport.  I made some great images of a number of dragonflies, but the highlight of the day were a pair of very cooperative robber flies.

Robber flies don’t get a lot of love.  They’re all pretty darn ugly.  They’re flies.  And none of them have “common” names, meaning that if you’re Latin adverse you’re not going to have a lot of fun keeping track of them.  And there aren’t really any good paper guides like dragonflies and butterflies have acquired over the last few years.

But they are sure fun insects to work with.  The Efferia snowi that leads off the post was a robber fly I had never seen before.  Someone on Facebook said it looked like he had sprained his tail and somebody wrapped him with athletic tape.  Wonderful species and I got some great shots.

Perched male Eastern Ringtail dragonfly in Central Texas

© jmillerphoto.com – Eastern Ringtail (Erpetogomphus designatus)

I also ended up seeing 10 species of dragonflies, with good pictures of 7 of them.  My favorite was this image of an Eastern Ringtail.

Overall I added 14 images to the portfolio from this trip, bringing the running total up to 478 “keepers” in the library.  This is also the first trip where I’ve managed to finish up harvesting all of the keepers out of it since a shoot I did in February.  Did I mention I’ve been busy?

About the Images:
Both of the images were made off of the Insect Standard Gear.  The camera settings on the Robber Fly was ISO 400, 1/500 sec at f/13.  I wish I had maybe closed down the f-stop one more stop, but the wind was pretty wicked and I was hoping for sharpness.  The Eastern Ringtail was made at ISO 400, 1/500 sec at f/11.  Wind was a bigger issue on that shot, but everything worked out okay.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2016 12:50 pm

    Glad to see you’re still kicking and still getting out. It’s way too hot now for me. I’ll just watch the cardinals from indoors 🙂

    • July 24, 2016 6:09 pm

      I got out last weekend, but this weekend had too many “have to do’s” for me to venture out. Hopefully next weekend.

Leave a Reply

