Skip to content

Life Still Gets In The Way…

July 24, 2016
Male Blue Dasher perched on dead vegetation in South Texas

© jmillerphoto.com – Blue Dasher (Pachydiplax longipennis)

So I had every intention to write a quick blurb on Wednesday to keep the streak of one post going, but of course life is what happens when we’re making other plans.

That being said, it is hot… really hot… in South Texas right now.  I did go out last weekend and made some shots out at Mitchell Lake Audubon Center (MLAC) in Bexar County, Texas.  But that was a mighty quick trip outside as the the combination of heat and wind made for a miserable dragonfly experience.

The upside of the trip was that I added a species to my “I’ve seen it here” list for MLAC.  That would be a Neon Skimmer (Libellula croceipennis).  When you’ve made as many trips out to MLAC as I have in the last few years (easily 3 dozen by my estimation), to add a new dragonfly species to that list is unique and welcome.  Of course it was too far away to get a good shot of it, but what the heck… Maybe I’ll get luckier next time I’m out.

I was luckier with more common dragonflies, with Blue Dashers, Eastern Pondhawks, Four-spotted Pennants, and Red-tailed Pennants being the most likely targets.  I did come away with a species count of 11, which all in all is still not a bad day.

So this weekend has been spent trying to catch up on household tasks.  Most were your the usual suspects of keeping a house up and running.  But a little out of the ordinary was that I needed to recalibrate the monitors.  It had been months because my last one (Spyder4 Pro) started to act weird during the calibration process when I picked up my third monitor.  But I’ve had that one for a number of years so I figured it was time to replace it with a Spyder5 Pro.  Wonderfully easy process and now all three of the monitors look outstanding.  The only problem I had with the entire process was I had to move my monitors closer to the computer because the cable for the Spyder5Pro was too short to get to the monitor that was furthest away.  Definitely a First World problem.

Back to the grind tomorrow, but by all accounts it should be a slower week.  Of course, now that I just said that…

About the Image:
This Blue Dasher was one of the better shots from my trip last weekend.  It was shot off of my Standard Gear for insect work.  ISO 400, 1/320 sec at f/13 were the camera settings.

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 25, 2016 12:04 am

    amazing photo :o)

  2. July 26, 2016 12:00 pm

    Love your odo photos, Jim, and your description of when/where/what… Always a pleasure to visit.

    • July 26, 2016 8:27 pm

      Thank you, Celia. As others have helped me find locations to shoot or watch our Odonate friends, I try to do the same.

Leave a Reply

