Skip to content

Post #250 – Strong to the Finish…

September 17, 2013
Rambur's Forktail

© jmillerphoto.com – Rambur’s Forktail

Two reason for celebration in today’s post.  First is that this is post #250 for this little blog.  It started from not much.  And there are days it still is not much.  But it has been fun sharing.  Here’s to the next 250 posts.

The other reason for celebration is this week I finished a year long journey.  And it all started on whim.

I had been on Google Plus for a while and came to the conclusion that it was much better than Facebook for folks who were serious about photography.  And that was before Facebook came to the conclusion that they could allow their advertisers to use your images.  But that’s a blog rant for another time.

I had seen a number of folks doing 365 day projects.  Effectively 1 post every day of a particular subject for 365 days.  And amongst that I stumbled on a couple of photographers that were trying to do a 365 project with dragonflies and damselflies.  And I thought to myself, “Self, I could do that.  Why not give it a try?”

And thus started the journey.  That was a year ago today.  Yesterday I completed my 365 day journey.  And wow, what a journey.

There was good and bad about the project

The good:  I got to look at a lot of my library of images, reliving the good (and the not so good).  It made me spend a little time each day on photography.  It gave me quick snippets of text to do every day as well.

The bad:  It forced me to spend time when I didn’t feel like I had time.  It ensured that dragonflies and damselflies dominated this year’s shooting.  I always wanted to make sure I had “fresh” images for the #OdeADay posts.

But now it is over.  365 images.  60+ species of odonata.  And wonderful memories.

And proof that once in a while I can see a project to the end.

Now… time for that next project…

About the Image:
This Rambur’s Forktail (Ischnura ramburii) was posted on Day 214 of the journey.  It is also in my rotation of wallpapers for Windows because it is one of my favorites.  Technical specs are:  Standard Gear on tripod.  ISO 400, 1/400 sec at  f/9.  No flash.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2013 6:49 am

    I have folders titled “To Edit 2013…2012…2011” Sometimes we need to force ourselves to sit down and edit those images and find the treasures we forgot we had! Just spent the day yesterday doing just that, because a tree fell on my car the day before and I can’t go anywhere until the windshield is fixed and the insurance adjuster comes. Made good use of the downtime.

    • September 19, 2013 10:08 pm

      I’m afraid I am in that boat. Probably as far back as images into 2009. It is so much fun to go out and shoot, but there is work to be done on the back end of those shoots. Here’s to hoping for bad weather this weekend so I can get to it 😉

  2. September 19, 2013 2:52 pm

    Congrats on the dedication. You’re an inspiration to us slackers!

  3. positivethinking13 permalink
    November 23, 2013 8:17 am

    Beautiful! Love these little guys, so many memories of growing up at our lake house! They would land on us while we were floating and tanning out on the lake! So fun:)

Leave a Reply

