Skip to content

So Close, Yet So Far Away

September 3, 2013
Powdered Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Powdered Dancer

Sorry for yet another extended gap between posts.  Much going on, and frankly not enough time to sit down and write a proper blog post.

I have been posting fairly regularly over at Google Plus.  But as much as anything that has been to close out my “OdeADay” project in which I have posted one dragonfly or damselfly image a day for 365 days in a row.  At this writing I am at day #352, so I can see the light at the end of that tunnel (and I’m hoping that it isn’t a train moving right at me). Those entries have been quick blurbs, followed by an image. Easy stuff. Short attention theater stuff. Look! A squirrel!

I have been shooting relatively regularly as well.  In fact, I’ve been out in the field 8 times since I last posted here.  Lots of odonata.  Lots of miles on the road.  And frankly lots of good time to let the blood pressure settle down and for clear thinking to return to the cranium.  However, not a lot of time to stop and write meaningful prose.  I’ll work to correct that.

In the middle of all of this has been some family obligations that I needed to take on.  Obligations gladly accepted, but they sure can swallow a lot of time.

Amazingly enough, work has been quiet.  Which is probably a good thing because it has allowed me to take care of some of the other big picture items.  Great, now I’ve jinxed myself.  All h-e-double hockey sticks is going to break out tomorrow.  Good thinking, Jim.

I’ll try to do some more sharing in the next week or so.  I have my Magnificent Seven series to finish up as well.  I may even start working a year in review series.  Yeah, great, it is September and you’re all ready thinking about the end of the year.  I kind of have to.  Because the years keep moving forward and the opportunities keep moving forward as well.

And I, too, will keep a moving…

About the Image:
This was from this past weekend’s shooting at Medina River Natural Area in San Antonio, Texas.  Damselflies seem to ruled the park this summer.  This Powdered Dancer (Argia moesta) made for a good photo subject, perched so nicely on the small branch.  The Standard Gear was used as usual.  No flash–still haven’t gotten that fixed.  No extension tube either, though I had it with me but just chose not to use it here.  I don’t think it would have added anything.  Tech specs were ISO 400, 1/320 sec at  f/11.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2013 9:06 am

    blue/gray…my favorite color…so I think she/he is incredibly beautiful

    • September 4, 2013 7:09 pm

      Thank you. I should have mentioned it is a male Powdered Dancer. That one got past my quality control last night…

  2. September 9, 2013 10:00 pm

    Glad to see you’re still around, I was starting to wonder. I didn’t think anything could keep you from blogging! Good job keeping up with the shooting during the summer.

    • September 14, 2013 10:17 pm

      Thanks. I’m hoping to make this more of a priority. Gotta find the time.

Leave a Reply

