Skip to content

Post #300! – Photo Binge 2014 – Day 6: Cook’s Slough

July 22, 2014
Four-spotted Pennant

© jmillerphoto.com – Four-spotted Pennant

Round numbers are always kind of cool.  Three hundred posts for this blog is a nice milestone to achieve  Thank you for hanging around all this time.  I hope the next three hundred are as good as the last three hundred.

Red-tailed Pennant

© jmillerphoto.com – Red-tailed Pennant

Day 6 of the Photo Binge took me to Cook’s Slough Nature Park in Uvalde, Texas.  This park always seems to present some good dragonfly and damselfly opportunities, and this trip was no exception.

Robber Fly

© jmillerphoto.com – Robber Fly

As usual I did not get out as early as I would have liked to.  But getting to Cook’s early doesn’t necessarily provide more image opportunities.  Often it just gives you a chance to walk a little further and wished that you had brought more water or other re-hydration potable.  But sometimes the extra time is beneficial and part of me is sad I didn’t get that opportunity.  But the other part of me was kind of happy given how fatigued and over-heated I was by the time I finished the walk.

The usual suspects were out.  I didn’t see quite as many damselflies as I think I normally do, but some of that may have been just the nature of time of day and other things flying.

I did see a few Robber Flies, to include the one that I have posted here.  I didn’t have great expectations for this shot because of slow shutter speed and an odd posing angle, but it turned out pretty well.

Roseate Skimmer

© jmillerphoto.com – Roseate Skimmer

Overall I wish there had been more variety on the trails.  But I was happy with the shots I made and was even happier to return to the comfort of the air conditioner…

About the Images:
All images were made with the Standard Gear, on the tripod and no flash.  The Four-spotted Pennant (Brachymesia gravida) that leads the blog was my 2nd photo subject of the day.  Great perch and good background (ISO 400, 1/125 sec at  f/13).  The color of the Red-tailed Pennant (Brachymesia furcata) was almost perfect in the mid-morning sun (ISO 400, 1/125 sec at f/16).  The Robber Fly (species TBD) turned out to be a great shot in spite of the conditions (ISO 400, 1/50 sec at f/18).  And the always colorful Roseate Skimmer (Orthemis ferruginea) found a great perch for me (ISO 400, 1/320 sec at f/11)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

