Skip to content

A Last Couple of Key Words…

December 13, 2011
Black-crested Titmouse

© jmillerphoto.com - Black-crested Titmouse

I have been asked often and by many the following question:  Why go to that level of intensity of putting keywords on the pictures?

First, I like to know where I’ve made images.  This goes back to my time in Iceland, my identifying images on my Pictures from Iceland website and getting image descriptions wrong.  I hated that.

But this also goes to publishers saying to me, “I like your image of the Blue Dasher dragonfly.  Was it shot in Texas?”  By having the information embedded into the image I don’t have to do further research to ensure that I can say honestly, “Yes, it was.”  This happened with my cover shot for Lake Country Life.

But second, if/when that image finds its way to the web, the information about the image is present.  On Flickr, this means when I upload the image I don’t have to go back and figure out if I’ve added all the info I want to.  Like the slogan for a certain spaghetti sauce, “It’s in there.”  If I’m trying to sell the image on SmugMug, that data is present so again I don’t have to do any additional work for terms that I want available for search.  This too has been beneficial in the past.  And in theory, if the keyword data is in image when Google finds it, it will grab that info and make it that much more searchable.

I also failed to mention in the last post that one of the other benefits of using Lightroom is that those images, when imported into the program, are automatically tagged with my copyright information as well as contact information should someone want to use the image properly.

But wow, I still have a stack of about 22,000 images looking me square in the face.  I guess the other upside is that I’ll have more images to share here.  Let the digging begin.

About the image:
This Black-crested Titmouse (Baeolophus atricristatus) doesn’t look so aristocratic as the wind is blowing down his black top hat.  It, like so many of my images from the Canon 30D that need to be keyworded was shot within the confines of the bird blind at San Angelo State Park.  Maybe it is the blind’s fault 😉

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

