Skip to content

Nobody Rides For Free…

April 20, 2012
Powdered Dancer

© jmillerphoto.com – Powdered Dancer Damselfly

The blog has been conspicuously quiet of late.  Sorry about that.  Work has been very busy.  New position, more responsibility, more thinking.  This is to be expected–my employer invested a lot of money in me in the last few years and with an investment there comes an expectation to receive a return on that investment.  Being a family friendly blog, I cannot recite the entire phrase that includes “No Gas” and “Nobody rides for free,” but the folks in my generation should know the phrase well 😉

The couple of days that weren’t overly busy at work were occupied with tasks in the evening that has kept blogging to a minimum.  I’m hoping to get at least a couple of things written this weekend to keep the conversation going next week.

I did get out last weekend and did something I hardly ever do:  Almost nothing.  It was just a quiet weekend on a smallish lake in the heart of Texas.  I did a little photography out there, but honestly not much.  And that was really by design.  It was a weekend about relaxing, taking a load off, forgetting about work, and forgetting about hobbies.  And did I mention I got to relax?

I’ve posted a couple of those shots to Flickr, along with a number of images from my Easter Sunday trip to Medina River Natural Area.  I’ll blog a little bit about Medina River Natural Area along with hopefully making a trip out there.  I’m hoping to make it somewhere outside of the greater San Antonio area on Sunday, weather and time permitting.

About the Image:
Medina River Natural Area was the source of a large number of Powdered Dancer (Argia moesta) damselflies.  Technical specs on this one: ISO 400, f/13 @ 1/320th.  The smaller f-stop opening was needed to get ample depth of focus with the damsel.  The fast shutter speed was needed for the small creature and the shaky guy behind the camera.  I might have been able to drop it back to ISO 200, but all things being equal it turned out pretty good.  All things considered it was a very minor crop–just taken down to 4×5 format and a little off the top and bottom.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2012 9:34 pm

    Jim, you need to check out my other blogger friend’s post. She is into dragonflies, etc., also.
    http://cindymcintyre.wordpress.com/

    • April 21, 2012 8:44 am

      Cindy does some fantastic work. She and I have talked and commented on each other’s blogs a number of times.

Leave a Reply

