Skip to content

Rolled the Odometer Again…

September 9, 2012
Filigree Skimmer

©jmillerphoto.com – Filigree Skimmer

Back in late March I rolled the virtual odometer on my camera–that is, the image counter went from IMG_9999 to IMG_0001.  Today it happened again while I was at Lost Maples State Natural Area near Vanderpool, Texas.

This is not the exact image that was the rollover, but it is the same subject, and it was kinda special.  This is a female Filigree Skimmer (Pseudoleon superbus), shot in the waning moments of my 5 mile hike around the park’s East Loop.  The Filigree Skimmer is the 21st add to my dragonfly life list this year and the 23rd odonate overall.  I love the pattern on the eyes–mighty striking.

Sorry for the short blog post.  The hike has left me pretty tuckered out and I have an 3AM alarm to meet in the morning.  Long story for another time, I’m afraid.  It’ll be quiet this coming week for the same reason that I’ll be up before the crack of dawn tomorrow.  But I’m hoping I’ll have the time to do some serious writing while I’m occupied and just add the pictures when I get back so there’ll be new posts this weekend.

About the Image:
Standard gear as usual.  I did use some fill flash, but it didn’t do me a lot of good.  ISO 400, 1/320 at f/9.  I had to do a little more work in Lightroom than I normally would on this one, pulling down the graduated filter tool to try to knock down some of the bright highlights.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2012 9:11 am

    When you roll over your ‘odometer’, do you then do anything to the new series of 0001, i.e., and an ‘a’ or something like that?

    • September 14, 2012 5:53 pm

      Hi Bob. No, I don’t even really bother with it. Part of my workflow is that when I bring the images into Lightroom that I do a mass rename to YYDDD_### such as 12253_001 for the first image I shot on September 9th of this year (the 253d day of the year). But the camera keeps track sequentially and I don’t reset upon format.

      With the 10D I didn’t rename and I did use an A for images past the first 10K. But it was a pain to work with and this seems to work better for me.

  2. September 17, 2012 7:19 am

    Love the eye patterns – you caught it just right. I’ve recently started using Adobe Bridge for my batch/EXIF stuff. I had neglected the EXIF for so long and now that I’m using Bridge it’s pretty quick and easy.

  3. October 13, 2012 12:43 pm

    Wow! I didn’t know Filigree Skimmers had such pretty eyes. They remind me of the eyes of the deer flies we have here, which – now that I think about it – may not be such a good thing.

    • October 13, 2012 6:34 pm

      I do hate deer flies (dealt with them in SW Ohio), but they don’t share any other characteristics than they eyes and their penchant for shade. Or at least this one particular Filigree–it was a beast dealing with the bright/dark contrast.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.